Three Cowboy Songs

Song Collection

Libby Larsen's Three Cowboy Songs sets the texts of Belle Starr, Robert Creeley, and an anonymous text about Billy the Kidd.

"The Cowboy Songs are three character songs. Two of the texts are drawn from cowboy/girl poetry, 'Bucking Bronco' with a text by Belle Starr and 'Billy the Kid' with an anonymous text. The third, 'Lift me into Heaven Slowly' is the retitled 'Sufi Sam Christian' of American poet Robert Creeley."

--Libby Larsen

Date: 1994Composer: Libby LarsenText: Anonymous, Robert Creeley, Belle Starr

Print vitals & song text


1. Bucking Bronco Text: Belle Starr
2. Lift Me Into Heaven Slowly Text: Robert Creeley
3. Billy the Kid Text: Anonymous


Related Information

Sheet Music

Cowboy Songs

Composer(s): Libby Larsen

Song(s): 1. Bucking Bronco
2. Lift Me Into Heaven Slowly
3. Billy the Kid

Buy via Sheet Music Plus

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.