Unto the Hills: American Songbook III

Song Collection

Unto the Hills: American Songbook III bears the subtitle "Songs of Sadness, Yearning, and Innocence: A Cycle of Appalachian Songs. The work sets traditional and folk songs for singer, amplified piano, and percussion quartet.

Date: 2002Composer: George Crumb

Print vitals & song text


Unto the Hills: American Songbook III:

1. “Poor Wayfaring Stranger”
2. “All the Pretty Little Horses”
3. “Ten Thousand Miles”
4. “Ev’ry Night When the Sun Goes In”
5. ” Appalachian Epiphany: A Psalm for Sunset and Dusk (Instrumental Interlude)
6. “Down in the Valley – Hush, Little Baby (An Appalachian Lullaby)”
7. “Black, Black Black is the Color”
8. “The Riddle”
9. “Poor Wayfaring Stranger”




    Sheet Music

    Unto the Hills

    Composer(s): George Crumb

    Buy via Sheet Music Plus

    Support us and help us grow

    Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.