Mad Book, Shadow Book

Song Collection

Mad Book, Shadow Book is a song cycle by Stephen Paulus setting the poetry of Michael Dennis Browne.

The song cycle was commissioned by the Schubert Club of St. Paul and premiered in 1978 by Vern Sutton, tenor, and Julie Himmelstrup, piano, at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis.

Date: 1977Composer: Stephen PaulusText: Michael Dennis Browne

Print vitals & song text


1. Michael Morley Creaked
2. Falling Asleep in the Afternoon
3. I Feel Good Running
4. Morley’s Root Song
5. Calm, Calm
6. Et in arcadia, Morley

[The text for these songs is not available.]

Related Information

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.