Echo's Song

"Echo's Song" is the fourth song of Daron Aric Hagen's song cycle Echo's Songs. The text is by British Renaissance poet Benjamin Jonson.

Date: 1983Composer: Daron Aric HagenText: Benjamin JonsonSong Collection: Echo's Songs

Print vitals & song text


Slow, Slow, Fresh Font, Keep Time…
by Ben Johnson

Slow, slow, fresh fount, keep time with my salt tears:
Yet slower, yet; O faintly, gentle springs:
List to the heavy part the music bears,
Woe weeps out her division when she sings.
Droop herbs and flowers,
Fall grief in showers,
Our beauties are not ours;
O, I could still,
Like melting snow upon some craggy hill,
Drop, drop, drop, drop,
Since nature’s pride is, now, a withered daffodil.

Sheet Music

Echo's Songs

Composer(s): Daron Aric Hagen

Song(s): 1. Never Pain to Tell Thy Love
2. I Am Not Yours
3. A Dream Within a Dream
4. Echo's Song
5. I Am Rose
6. Lost
7. Why Did You Go
8. Since You Went Away
9. Thou Wouldst Be Loved
10. Look Down, Fair Moon
11. The Mild Mother

Find at your Local Library

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.