Cabaret Songs, Vol. 1

Song Collection

William Bolcom's monumental, four-volume collection of Cabaret Songs, setting the lyrics of Arnold Weinstein, were complete in 1996. The first two volumes were composed from 1977 to 1985, and the third and fourth volumes were composed from 1993 to 1996.

Date: 1996Composer: William BolcomText: Arnold Weinstein

Print vitals & song text


The premieres of the various volumes of Cabaret Songs took place:

Vol. 1 – Joan Morris, mezzo-soprano, William Bolcom, piano, July 18, 1978

Vol. 2 – Joan Morris, mezzo-soprano, William Bolcom, piano, New York, NY, April 1983

Vol. 3 & 4 – Joan Morris, mezzo-soprano, William Bolcom, piano, 92nd Street Y, New York, NY, December 2, 1997

The audio recordings from Cabaret Songs are made possible through a collaboration between the Hampsong Foundation and SongFest. The performers of “Over the Piano” are Loralee Songer, mezzo-soprano, and Hyanghyun Lee, piano, and he performers of “George” are Siobahn Sung, mezzo-soprano, and Hyueeun Ham, piano. Both performances took place at SongFest 2012 at The Colburn School.


Related Information


Sheet Music

Cabaret Songs Complete

Composer(s): William Bolcom

Song(s): Volume 1:
1. Over the Piano
2. Fur (Murray the Furrier)
3. He Tipped the Waiter
4. Waitin
5. Song of Black Max (as told by the de Kooning boys)
6. Amor

Volume 2:
1. Places to Live
2. Toothbrush Time
3. Surprise!
4. The Actor
5. Oh Close the Curtain
6. George

Volume 3:
1. The Total Stranger in the Garden
2. Love in the Thirties
3. Thius, King of Orf
4. Miracle Song
5. Satisfaction
6. Radical Sally

Volume 4:
1. Angels are the Highest Form of Virtue
2. Poet Pal of Mine
3. Can't Sleep
4. At the Last Lousy Moments of Love
5. Lady Luck
6. Blue

Buy via Sheet Music Plus

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.