Women's Voices

Song Collection

Ned Rorem's song cycle Women's Voices sets the poetry of American and English poets.

Date: 1979Composer: Ned RoremText: Emily Dickinson, Christina Rossetti, Elinor Wylie

Print vitals & song text


1. “Now let no charitable hope” (Elinor Wylie)
2. “A birthday” (Christina Rossetti)
3. “To my dear and loving husband (Anne Bradstreet)
4. “To the ladies” (Mary Lee, Lady Chudleigh)
5. “If ever hapless woman had a cause” (Mary Herbert, Countess of Pembroke, née Sidney)
6. “We never said farewell” (Mary Coleridge)
7. “The stranger” (Adrienne Rich)
8. “What inn is this” (Emily Dickinson)
9. “Defiled is my name” (Anne Boleyn)
10. “Electrocution” (Lola Ridge)
11. “Smile, Death” (Charlotte Mew)

Sheet Music

Women's Voices

Composer(s): Ned Rorem

Voice Type: High

Buy via Boosey & Hawkes

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.