Three Women

Song Collection

Three Women is a song cycle by Lee Hoiby from 1985. The cycle sets poetry by Tennessee Williams, Emma Lazarus, and Dorothy Parker.

Date: 1985Composer: Lee HoibyText: Tennessee Williams, Emma Lazarus, Dorothy Parker

Print vitals & song text


This version is the second version of this song cycle. The first version set a poem of Thornton WIlder instead of Emma Lazarus, but the song was withdrawn because of problems obtaining the rights to Wilder’s text.


1. “Miss Alma Calls”
2. “Lady of the Harbor”
3. “The Waltz”

Sheet Music

Three Women

Composer(s): Lee Hoiby

Voice Type: High

Find it at your Local Library

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.