Good Morning: Six Songs for High Voice

Song Collection

John Duke's 1974 song cycle Good Morning: A Cycle of Six Songs for High Voice sets the poetry of Mark Van Doren. All of the poems are from Van Doren's 1973 volume Good Morning: Last Poems, which was published posthumously.

The song cycle is published as part of the collection Songs by John Duke, Vol. 3 (Southern Music Company).

Date: 1974Composer: John Woods DukeText: Mark Van Doren

Print vitals & song text


1. “Good Morning!”
2. “Walking in the Rain”
3. “Those Great Clouds There”
4. “Water That Falls and Runs Away”
5. “Listen To Us, the Leaves Say”
6. “Merry-go-round”



Sheet Music

Songs by John Duke, Vol. 3

Composer(s): John Duke

Song(s): 1. Bredon Hill (А.Е. Housman)
2. Reality (Dorothy Duke)
3. Penguin Geometry (Donald Wheelock)
4. Good Morning (Mark Van Doren)
5. Walking in the Rain (Mark Van Doren)
6. Those Great Clouds There (Mark Van Doren)
7. Water that Falls and Runs Away (Mark Van Doren)
8. Listen to Us, the Leaves Say (Mark Van Doren)
9. Merry-go-round (Mark Van Doren)
10. Stillness (Karen Duke)
11. Lovely (Mary L. Fortson)
12. The Sheaves (E.A. Robinson)
13. А Winter Night (Sara Teasdale)
14. The Return from Town (Edna St. Vincent Millay)
15. When, in Disgrace with Fortune (William Shakespeare)
16. Politics (W.B. Yeats)
17. Old Ben Golliday (Mark Van Doren)
18. Tiger! Tiger! (William Blake)
19. She's Somewhere in the Sunlight Strong (Richard LeGallienne)
20. I Lost My Heart (A.E. Housman)
21. The Wind Has Changed (Mark Van Doren)

Voice Type: Mixed Voice, High/Medium

Buy via Keiser / Southern Music

Support us and help us grow

Dear friends, Thank you for helping us build a comprehensive online archive of American song. Your gift is greatly appreciated.